top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureapriljharshman

Sightseeing to the end

Updated: Dec 22, 2021

July 8, 2018

My last day in Rome, and my last day in Italy. I spent the day sightseeing. My first stop was the Catacombs of St. Callixtus. These catacombs were home to over half a million bodies with 30 percent of those bodies being children. No pictures were allowed but the 45-minute tour includes family tombs, ancient pathways and symbols and the Crypt of the Popes. After the catacombs I went to the Roman Forum, a garden of ancient buildings. The ticket for the Forum also gets you into the Palatine Hill and the Coliseum, which was my next stop. The Coliseum is massive and amazing to see.



After my day of historical sights, I treated myself to dinner in the Pantheon piazza. The piazza is filled with street performers and people gathering. I finally had a meat and cheese plate, a mushroom pasta, and yummy wine, at the end of my dinner I was treated to a shot of Limoncello on the house, also a first. On this night the sky was beautiful and a gentle reminder of my spectacular opportunity to visit such a remarkable area of the world.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page